If you mark some fields as availables only in a specific scope (workflow or submit) then you will lose the input if you re-open the item in edit in a different scope...
for example, if fieldA is available only in submission and you have a workflow step2 on the submission collection, you will erase the fieldA value during the metadata revision.
The same things happen if you have a field available only in workflow and after have entered some values you reject the submission so that it trought again the submission.
Finally, the JSPUI shows the hidden metadata in the review step.
A patch will be posted soon